Skip to content
Saltash Town Council, Working for the People of Saltash

Your Town Council

Your Council Icon

Saltash Town Council has 16 elected Councillors. Saltash is divided into 3 Wards - Essa, Tamar and Trematon. There are Councillors for each Ward and they are elected from the community every 4 years. Spaces are filled via by-elections, or by means of the Town Council choosing new councillors ('co-option').

The Council delegates its functions to various Committees who report to Full Council who then oversees Committee decisions. Full Town Council meets every 1st Thursday of the month to discuss matters arising from the Committees. It also considers issues raised by residents and visitors of Saltash.

Although much decision making is delegated to the relevant Committees, Full council remains primarily responsible for important decisions affecting Saltash. The meeting is open to members of the public and press.  Any member of the public requiring to put a question to the Town Council must do so by 12 noon the day before the meeting either by email to or sent to The Guildhall, 12 Lower Fore Street, Saltash PL12 6JX. Please provide your full name and indicate if you will be present at the meeting.

The Town Council employs 25 staff delivering Town Council Services, including the Finance Department, Administration Office, Service Delivery Department and Saltash Library Hub.

Click here to download and view the Committee Organisational Chart and how each Committee / Sub Committee and Working Group feeds into Full Council

Click here to download and view the Schedule of Meetings 2024-2025